Weather v. Season

When I was a young child (0-6), I lived in Detroit, MI-a city notorious for its brutal winters, among other things.  My mother, a Virginian, was adamant that my clothes correspond to the season no matter the temperature.  While it was cold, I’m pretty sure I didn’t need to don that full body snowsuit from November to March.  When we moved back to VA, her philosophy continued.

Now that I’m older, I can accept the necessity of this practice, in some cases.  I live in South Carolina and though its the 2nd day of fall, the expected high is something like 94 degrees.  How am I supposed to dress for that?!  I felt so bad for wearing a maxi dress yesterday; it’s the middle of September, those should already be packed up for next year!

This warm weather is frustrating.  I have blazers and boots that are begging to be worn!  I’m ready for Fall!  I’ve seen a few girls traipsing around campus in Uggs and suede this week–maybe they’re of the ‘dress for the season’ brood, too.  I just can’t bring myself to do it.  It makes no sense to be uncomfortably sweaty simply because of what the calendar says.

Do you dress for the season OR the weather?   Are Fall Fashions appropriate in your climate yet?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

